Dr. Nancy L. Dishner

Nancy Dishner

President and CEO


Dr. Nancy Dishner serves as President and CEO of the Niswonger Foundation.  She is in her ninth year of service at the Foundation. Prior to this position, Nancy served 30 years in the field of education for the State of Tennessee. She retired as Vice Provost for Enrollment Services and Director of the Roan Scholars Leadership Program at East Tennessee State University. She was a tenured professor in the department of Educational Leadership and Policy Analysis. She served five years as a full time faculty member, teaching doctoral and masters coursework  in K-12 leadership and in the private/postsecondary leadership program. Prior to her position at ETSU, she was a public school teacher in Unicoi County.

Nancy is an alumna of East Tennessee State University with a B.S. in Elementary Education (summa cum laude), Masters in Supervision and Administration; and a Doctorate in Administration.  She received elementary teaching and principalship certifications in Tennessee.

She is the recipient of the ETSU Outstanding Staff Award, and was honored with recognition in the ETSU Clemmer College of Education Hall of Fame.  She was named the ETSU Outstanding Alumna for 2013, and has a street named in her honor on the campus. She has also been recognized with the Outstanding Freshman Advocate Award from the Freshman Year Experience Program at the University of South Carolina.

Nancy is a legislatively appointed member of the Tennessee Higher Education Commission. She is a member of the ETSU Foundation and serves on the Executive Council for the Niswonger Children’s Hospital. She is on the Board of the Tennessee Independent Colleges and Universities Association (TICUA); a Steering Committee member on the State Collaborative for Reforming Education (SCORE); and is on the Board of the Tennessee College Access and Success Network (TCASN).  Nancy is a member of the Board of Trustees of Tusculum College. 

Dr. Dishner served two terms on the Board of Directors of the Johnson City/Jonesborough/Washington County Chamber of Commerce, and established and chaired the Partners in Education program for Johnson City and Washington County. She served on the Johnson City Public Building Authority, as both secretary and chair of the public relations committee.  She served as President of the ETSU Staff Senate and two terms as President of Phi Kappa Phi honor society.